Seeing the light

I went for a run after work, and knowing that another light exhibition was due to open in St Andrew's Square this evening, ran along to view it. This one is very different, but just as spectacular as the Chinese warriors.

This is Field of Light by British artist, Bruce Munro (pictured). I was lucky enough to be passing as Munro was posing for the press so I joined the photographers (not exactly fitting in with running gear and an iPhone!)

This is the first time Munro has exhibited in Scotland, but he is known for immersive large-scale mixed-media installations based on the medium of light. This one is made up of 9000 lighted glass orbs rising from illuminated stems. The installation apparently 'bursts into bloom’ at dusk, when the spheres light up. They then gently change colour into the night. Munro says that there is the distinct feeling that there is life force pulsating within the installation. You can certainly feel and see it as you walk around.

The Field of Light will be lit from 5pm – midnight every day until 27 April 2014.

In other news, the more astute of you will notice that I have stopped my running mileage counter. It's really quite liberating. It feels like I've taken off my training wheels. It's the same feeling that you get when you run your second marathon, not for charity, but just for you. Nobody else needs to know about it, you don't need motivation, you don't need to boast, you're simply running for yourself. Because you can.

This is step 2 in my plan to rediscover that part of running that I lost. And you know what, I think it might be working...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.