Lonely Lady

I went to amble on the river riverside today it was very cold but dry and surprisingly there were very few people around but that is as I like it. As I wandered aimlessly a playlist for my friend gently drifting through my earphones I could see this girl sitting on the granite kerbing in the distance. She was sitting rocking gently, it appeared as though she was listening to music too but as I neared I could see a sadness in her eyes and a soft voice talking to a voice on the end of the line.

I am usually very cautious about shooting people and always ask permission but today I shot from a distance as I could tell she wanted and needed to be alone, I was much the same just needing to be away to think, to try and rationalise the news of the day but I couldn't no matter how I tried.

I loved the the shadows and the shapes in this shot, the softness of the girl against the hard lines of the granite and the straight lines of the cobble stones. I liked the shape of the bollard and the return to my favoured monochrome. I wandered on and left her to her conversation.

When I see people like this I cannot help but wonder if they are ok, are they sad because of the call, is their sadness abating as the call continues. I know the value of a friend on the line, the softness of a calming voice, gentle encouragement unerring in their belief. There is nothing like that feeling of hearing those we love and care for even if it takes a little time to get the call!!! I hope you enjoy the shot today, simple in many ways but, well to me it is a powerful, striking shot that I am very proud of..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.