Mikey88

By Mikey88

Pentillie Castle

Well, it's been a funny old day. I went to pick my daughter up from work at 9.00 this morning, and there was a covering of snow on the moor. It was pleasant, but quite cold. I got back from that and went for a ride on the bike. Feeling brave, I did the six mile ride I normally do (but haven't done for a while), stopping to take pictures at various intervals.

I had to walk up a couple of hills which I normally ride up, but that should improve as I do it more reguarly. The picture is of Pentillie Castle, which featured in 'Country House Rescue' a couple of years ago. I seem to remember the guru was apalled at the colour which they painted it, but I quite like it.

It was a beautiful morning with showers moving across the landscape in the distance. Fortunately, they missed me. After lunch, I had another go at the buddleia, but the wind was getting up and the clouds were gathering. It was cold and not very pleasant, so I packed up and went in.

By the time my wife got in at about half past five, it was raining and the rain was being driven by a strengthening wind. She had got soaked just walking down from the car park. Now, the wind is booming against the side of the house and the rain lashing at the windows. The only good bit about it is that I don't have to go out!

I hope the wind has died down a bit as it moves towards you in the East - apparently there are a lot of trees down in Cornwall, and some power cuts.

I hope you're out of hospital and reading this at home, Pauline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.