Alaska

By Alaska

Where to Look?

Looking to the right as we crossed the bridge was the mountain view toward the Pacific Coast. Looking to the left was the Cascada Esmeralda.
This weekend I visited friends in western Oaxaca, and they took me to Yosondúa, the location of a fantastic cascade. This footbridge crosses the ravine, with views in all directions. Obviously I was not on the bridge when I took this photo, but I did walk across it. They are building zip lines above the bridge and below it, and we stood on the bridge for awhile to watch one guy zip across and another chicken out!
During the rainy season (Sept. to Dec.) the volume of water that cascades more than 300 ft. (100 m.) down this rocky slope greatly increases, but I don't know how it could be more beautiful than it was on this perfect day.
Tonight there was a little fiesta in the village, and the highlight was without question the castillos, which are spectacular towers (100 ft. high!) of fireworks.

If you would like to see a few more photos, click here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.