Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

In Class Essay

This is the first in-class essay moment for my students this semester. They will have one more at the end of the semester.

Before they write, I collect their textbooks to quickly thumb through the pages to see that they've done the work. They've each paid roughly $65 for this book. If I didn't collect it to check, they'd never do the work. I know the book is an excellent tool. They wouldn't need the class if they'd just do the book work; the book instructions are so complete and come with examples, so I know they'd learn to write if they'd just do the book activities before taking the college's placement test. They've learned ages before arriving in my classroom to hate textbooks. So for them to value the book, I must collect the it.

This is looking between the stacks of books--students couldn't see my iPhone nor hear it--so I quickly stole a couple clicks. I liked this one even though it lacks a sharp image.

These students were given the task of explaining a quality meaningful essay and why is it important. It is quite different that writing a "how-to" essay. They are not allowed to fill their paper with "how to" write an essay.

They have to know the material because they can't use notes or their books. The 3-subpoints used to support their main point are to explain the process of writing, the 4 steps of writing, and the ingredients in an essay--it's not brain surgery or rocket science. But it is a concept they must know and a skill they must have.

So tomorrow I'll be reading and commenting on student papers--again! Don't feel sorry for me though. I love my job. I work long hours during the autumn and spring semesters, but I have lovely extended breaks from mid-December to mid-February and all of summer to play. When I am working, though, it is grueling because learning is not an easy task, and students, quite frankly--like me and like you--would rather play.

Only 2 weeks till the 17th--Woohoo! I love November!
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Good grief--what a surprise! Thank YOU everyone for the comments on yesterday's "shore" photo. I knew when the little girl walked onto my sandy stage, I had witnessed a magical moment. I'll never forget that because I've saved it here on Blip. I love Blipfoto. I know you do too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.