The Goose and The Gander

By gooseandgander

Speech Contest

Over the past two weeks, The Goose and I have participated as judges in a school-wide English speech competition. The topic of the speech: "Choice In My Life".

The winners would go on to the district-wide competition. After judging many speeches at our school, we narrowed it down to the top three students.

Just yesterday we were informed that The Goose would be one of the judges at the district competition. She wasn't feeling well, but we've been told not to refuse a request that comes from a leader here, so she accepted the invite.

I decided to tag along to show support to our three students. The competition lasted over three hours, featuring over 40 contestants. Every contestant placed either 1st, 2nd, or 3rd. Two of our students were awarded a 1st place and the other a 2nd place.

At the end of all the speeches, I was asked to give a general critique of the evening. No one informed me about my speech ahead of time, so I flew by the seat of my pants to the fullest extent, but it was successful, and quite humorous. After all, this gander is quite the funny one!

:-)

Back to blip talk...Tonight's blip shows one of my students who was awarded in the 1st place tier.


Although I am exhausted and not feeling well myself, I am happy I went to show my students support. I could tell they really appreciated us being there.

~The Gander

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.