The Catholic Cathedral

An early departure by the Minx left me to have a leisurely waking in The Liner, which almost achieves a boutique quirkiness despite its size.

The below par coffee but reasonable shower cleared my head from the night before and, before I left the room, I took this shot across town to the Catholic Cathedral or Metropolitan Cathedral as it's properly known.

As a building, it never fails to strike me as odd; the Anglican Cathedral is far more in keeping with the city and also looks far more like what you'd expect from a cathedral.

I first saw this place just over twenty-three years ago, when I went to study in Liverpool. The Cathedral is very close to the university's student union, so I'd have seen it on my first day.

I've never been into the cathedral proper, although I think I remember having a coffee in one of the rooms there once, such was my religious curiosity at the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.