The "Indiana Harbor"

When we were out running around last week, my husband pointed out the big ship he could see in the distance, wintering on the Milwaukee River. I made the comment that I'd like to see it closer up, but that I had no idea how to get to it. Well, this morning on our way home from breakfast, he decided to go "exploring" to see if we could wind our way over to the ship. That area is called "Jones Island", & really isn't an island at all, but it's a very industrial type of area, with many shipping-type operations going on in the summer....we found out today that most of the areas are fenced in & locked. This is where my husband & I are vastly different: When a gate is open, but says "no entry", he just drives on through, whereas I'd have turned around. As we snaked our way through various businesses, all of which said "No Tresspassing", I get more tense, & my husband gets more delighted! Says it reminds him of his childhood! (that's what worries me, as I've heard the stories of his childhood: how he & his brother shot a BB gun off in the front room of their home & shot out the neighbor's window {accidentally} ; how they stuffed a pair of pants & a shirt to look like a body & layed it in the street to watch the cars slam on their brakes; or how he & his buddies, at about age 11 found a truck with the keys in it on a construction site, so were driving it around the site, & got arrested for "auto theft"....I'm just saying...) But believe it or not, we made it without getting arrested, & very proud of himself he was too! This ship is the "Indiana Harbor", & was built in Wisconsin, up in Sturgeon Bay, in 1979. It's an active carrier in the American Steamship Co. fleet, & primarily carries iron ore from the Duluth-Superior area on Lake Superior, down to the steel plants in Indiana, on the shores of Lake Michigan. It's frozen in place on the river, & looks massive close up! It's 1,000 feet long, 150 feet across, and can carry 78,850 tons of cargo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.