WeeChris

By WeeChris

Flooding Stour by Night

This evening I set out with my trusty tripod to try to get an interesting night-time shot.

This is the Stour, which flows through Canterbury, where it breaks up into a delta of five or six branches which then reform a mile or so down-stream into a single river again. Why would the ancients choose to settle and area where land is so flat that the river running through it forms such a delta? Presumably it was because flood-plains tend to be very fertile? Also, if a river forms multiple branches then all the dwellings can be sited close to water?

We know from talking with our neighbours that Canterbury has rarely flooded in the recent past. Nevertheless, The Environment Agency, no doubt keen to avoid being accused of complacency, has issued many and dire Flood Warnings to us and our neighbours in the last six weeks. The flooding so far in Canterbury has been very limited, but this area, adjacent to Sainsbury's Car Park has been under a few inches of water for about a week now.

For the picture I used a long exposure and a fairly low ISO so that I could get the smoothly polished effect of the moving water. I am pleased with the shapes the tree-trunks make emerging from the water. I tried this as a monochrome but on balance I prefer the various temperatures of the different lights reflecting in the water.

I hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.