bucks life

By bucksmiss

Teddy Bear

Tuesday day off. I was up and out early to make the most of my day and avoid wasting it, as only I can. After paying in a nice cheque from my Grannie's estate today and seeing the acupuncturist, I enjoyed a quiet coffee in Costa by myself then headed off to meet my sister.

I was early so bought some nice steaks for dinner from the local farm shop (and a couple of home made, truly top notch scotch eggs, still warm from the oven!) and had as squizz at the enormous Gloucester Old Spot pig and her piglings, tucked away behind her in the barn, sheltering from the wind and rain. Such a lovely sight.

I then met C in the NT car park at Stowe and we wrapped the baby up in his pram and headed off for a quick half an hour walk down through the landscaped gardens. The wind blew, the rain rained and we got blown left right and centre. At one point the rain was horizontal and stinging our cheeks. By the time we got back up to the cafe we were ready for a scone and hot coffee. Sod's law, of course, the sun gradually came out and the rain cleared so we'd chosen the worst half hour of the day to have our walk. Still, it blew the cobwebs right away and you really know you're alive when you feel wind and rain like that. A good thing.

I got loads of fabby baby cuddles but only a few smiles as a Teddy wasn't feeling great. Possibly teething and possibly chicken pox, poor mite. I did get to give him some of his bottle though. This selfie of us both is too lovely for words, even if I say so myself.

On my way home, I spotted the first lambs in the fields which was a great surprise. I then met the vicar for a cup of tea and to offer my services to the local church if he can use me on a Tuesday. We had a lovely chat and catch up.

It's a beautiful day outside now and I'm so glad to have enjoyed it away from work. I'm looking forward to a quiet evening with a bit of Coach Trip and delicious steaks tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.