Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Another day, another dead puffin...

The recurring bad weather is continuing to chip away at life. There were more dead birds on the beach today. Lots of really big clams littered the beach too.

I'm listening to the flood news on the TV. It's so depressing. It's clear we've brought it on ourselves to an extent and we've inflicted our lifestyle on innocent creatures too. But no one intended for this to happen, no one wanted this to happen, and it's all so sad.
Where we live is hilly and I know no one who is flooded but the rain and the wind and the crazy tides have changed the coastline and everything is sodden. Goodness know what all the dune erosion will bring if the crazy, big, high tides are repeated too often.

Mum had plans to travel this week but she's had to cancel them because she relies on trains and many of the trainlines in our area, and where she was going in Somerset and Oxford, are buggered/waterlogged.

Richard and I have had stomach ache today. Gemma is feeling flue-y and there's just a general flumpy feeling around. I think all our immune systems could do with better weather and better news.

I've had a thinking day today. There's something I might do soon but I'm reading up about it before hand to make sure I really want to do it. While I was thinking I plodded around the house doing little jobs I should have done - like getting rid of dead flowers that I'd dumped in the utility room. When I scooped them up to put them in the compost, a dead rose that I've kept for five years since Dad's funeral found its way into the bunch. I didn't deliberately pick it up but it went with the other dead roses as if it had been part of the same bunch. I've had that single rose in a bud vase in the corner for five years and have wondered when I will feel like getting rid of it but it looks like the decision's made. It was interesting timing: today the funeral of a local man was held. He was the father of one of Tess's classmates and only about 30 years old. I need to think about what I have and not display painful memories to look at every day of what I've lost. Things could be so much worse and when I think about what it must be like to have a young family and lose your partner so young it puts things in perspective.

I need to think of a few positives now...

The sun shone for hours and we had a nice walk.
I totally won at yoga this morning - which was good.
The dog had a nice day.
Tess ate all her tea.
Donald Trump* hasn't managed to stop a windfarm that he didn't want to look at from his swanky golf course in Aberdeenshire. Whoop!


*whenever I see the name Donald Trump, I think "Duck Fart".


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.