A Year in Phnom Penh

By nellbj

Gratitude

Today's blip is about nothing more than being alive. Actually it's exactly about being alive and the miracle and blessing that life is. I was contacted by a friend recently about her cousin who is seriously ill with anorexia and asked if I could offer any advice. It's made me think about my own struggle and how lucky I am to have made the long journey out of that devastating illness. It's so easy to take life for granted. But tonight I'm so grateful to be alive and living an amazing life. As I told my friend, there was a time when I and everyone around me thought that would never be possible. But I made it and I am beyond grateful for that and everything that life has given me since. Sometimes I get caught up in the business of life and take the fact that I'm here for granted. Tonight, I'm remembering how different things could have been. It's good to get some perspective on that.

Life is a choice. I hope her cousin can make it. It's worth the fight. I'm the best part of 10 years into my recovery now and life couldn't be richer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.