Licensed to Chill

By 007Roo

Final 12

When I got the phone call back in December to say that dad had took a turn for the worst and could I get to the hospital, I sat with him for a few days and he didn't wake up, I read papers and magazines and one of the magazines I read was this one Dogs Monthly, it's a magazine telling you tips and various other things dog related.

I read about a competition that was being run to find 12 dogs, to write a story on about why the dog is your best friend, maybe he's helped through illness or maybe he's a rescue dog, or a working dog.

A dog a month is picked and then the 12 go head to head and in Decembers issue the readers pick the winner.

So I sat and composed my email, how Roo had been involved in Pets as therapy, been twice runner up at crufts for his work, how he had tried his luck for the west end production of the wizard of Oz, but mainly how he had always been there for me and how at that present time with my dads illness always been happy to see me when I arrived home after a harrowing day.

I also told the story of his blip adventure and sent them photos to prove some of the things he'd got up too.

Well I've been told that Roo is in the last 12 dogs, he will be in the April edition ( I believe) so come December he will be relying on you ordering your copy to vote for him.

Also I emailed a lady called Valerie who was the editor of the ladies magazine Yours, she had fell in love with Roo at crufts and said he melted her heart, she emailed me back to say she had semi retired but had passed on my name to another lady, I then received a phone call to ask if they could do a feature on Roo and his blip stardom, so please order your copies for 4th March.

I contacted dogs monthly just after I lost dad to tell them that a part I had written no longer made sense, because I had sadly lost dad, they asked me if I could send them a picture of Roo with dad and they would make it a tribute to him.

So folks look out for Dogs Monthly and Yours magazine...

The boys done good........

Reproduced with kind permission from Dogs Monthly magazine April 2014. www.dogsmonthly.co.uk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.