dsparks83

By dsparks83

Matchday

The first day of the Superleague season for my hometown* club Widnes. I've followed rugby league since I was a little kid and today saw me do two things that I honestly cannot remember that last time I did them.
I went to the first home game of a season, I used to be at every match when I was growing up back in the days when it was Naughton park and not "The Select Security stadium" as it is now.
I also went to the game with my dad, we used to go to Widnes all the time but my dad got a bit disillusioned with rugby league and the way it was run so didn't go and watch for a while. He still supported Widnes and watched them on TV etc but he didn't go to a game. Now with a new found love for the sport I guess he has bought himself a season ticket for this year and it was great to walk down with him from my parents house to the ground. I look forward to taking my son down a few years from now as well, hopefully all three of us will be regulars.

To top it all off we had a big win to go top of the league after the first round, it won't last bit it's nice whilst it does.

*not my where I live now but it is where I grew up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.