Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

Murmuration of Starlings

I remembered to look for the starlings when I was passing through Gretna this afternoon. Weather wasn't that good but I found them in Rigg just outside Gretna. Not a good place to watch them really as very limited parking and it was raining. But I was determined to see them. It was difficult to get any decent shots really because of where they were, over muddy fields with hedges blocking my view. There were electric poles or phone line poles in the fields and from the distance I thought it strange that the wires were very thick and then realised they were covered in starlings. As well as swooping in the sky they kept landing on the ground before flying off again as you can see in today's blip. Have no idea where they would be roosting for the night as they weren't near any trees although I could see some in the distance. Anyhow it was good to see them even if it was raining. There's a couple more here

Rained all day :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.