As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Croagh Patrick

Another day of sleeping in. I had breakfast around 10:30 when Mike woke me up. The boys plus Mr. O minus Brendan left Sligo around 11:15 for Croagh Patrick, a really high mountain in County Mayo. We began hiking at 1:00 and reached the summit around 2:30. That mountain is crazy steep and there is very little solid footing. About halfway up we hit the cloudline and spent the rest of the hike in fog/rain. There was still snow on the ground on the mountain, Crazy. When we reached the top, we huddled along the wall of the church that was built in 1905 up there. We had our ham sandwiches and prepared for the descent. The way down was much quicker, but it really killed the knees. I took some awesome GoPro videos on the way down, and this picture was taken with the GoPro on the way up. I'm finally getting the hang of it. I'll be a pro with it by Tortola.

We drove back to Sligo after the hike, but not before stopping in Westport to buy some snacks for the ride home. I tried a Mars bar and Lucozade; both are very good. Mrs. O'Hara prepared some chicken and pasta for us and we ate together when we got back. A quick nap before heading out to Flynn's for some pool and a drink. Mike and I are doing pretty well with that. Paul and Mike are the best at pool, I'm pretty good at not messing Paul up, and Brendan and Sean have to practice. But who am I to say that.

Midnight pizza and blipping.

Tomorrow, we travel to Bunratty Castle and Galway. I'm excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.