stellarossa

By stellarossa

Reflections

It's been a week of reflecting on how we balance the time and attention we give to small everyday dramas - not studying enough for a French oral, failing to load the dishwasher for the nth time, when to phase out the painkillers/anti-inflammatories for my back.

And then the big stuff of lives ending and death coming to friends. Amid this news that Tom will definitely need a small op on his knee and if he is to continue rowing seriously should give up football and basketball. A minor issue compared to what Josie's family are going through, but a big one in Tom's life which I shouldn't diminish just because I know others have bigger dramas playing out in their lives.

I've always found beautiful light uplifting, and tonight as I drove past the hotel, I saw a stunning reflection of a horse in the flood water. By the time I had got the camera out the horse had moved, but this reflection captures something of it. When this hotel was built there was outrage about building such a big development on a flood plain….. a decade or so later we get the flood waters in the fields slightly downstream from the hotel, and that's what flows over the main road…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.