Journey's End...

… for the River Don, whereas my planned journey is yet to begin. What with the wretched weather and domestic matters, the year didn't get off to the start I'd hoped for but it feels as though things are starting to settle down. The weather seems a bit more settled, although it's still only February so anything could happen, and the work on the house feels a bit more under control now.
My plan was to start at the source of South Yorkshire's River Don, and make a journey from source to its end - not in the sea, but its confluence with the Ouse at Goole, which then, in turn flows into the Humber. That's still the plan, but I've really not found a suitable opportunity to get out to the area where the river begins, so today, I thought I'd take a sneaky look at the end of the journey so I caught a train to Goole. Goole is not the most attractive place, but a busy working port, and there are lots of docks and channels, so finding the end of the river proved quite complicated. In the end, this was the closest spot to the confluence and involved a walk down a cul-de-sac behind some factories. I'm glad I made the journey though, as it gave me a better idea of the route I need to follow once I get beyond Doncaster, which is pretty much unknown territory for me. The final reaches of the river seem to have been named The Dutch River according to Wikipedia: It originally joined the Trent, but was re-engineered by Cornelius Vermuyden as the Dutch River in the 1620s,. It won't be easy to find a way through the navigation channels, I suspect, but a series of snapshots (literally) is all I am after, rather than an uninterrupted journey.
We are off to Edinburgh next week for a well-earned break, so I shall aim to start my journey in earnest when we get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.