Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Carol...

...and me.

I was so happy to get a 'Face time' call today from my cousin Carol, who lives over 3500 miles away in Canada. She and her family & friends are facing some horrible life challenges, and we've been out of direct touch for a while.

Our mothers were sisters who were separated when my Aunt emigrated to Canada as a war bride in the late 40's. Carol and her 5 brothers and sisters were born and brought up across the Atlantic. I first met Carol when she came to England aged about 19 and I was an annoying 11 year old. Our paths crossed briefly when I went on holiday to Canada when I was 17, and she visited again a few years later.

I can't even remember the exact time we 'connected' but it was during another family visit when we became firm friends. That friendship has blossomed over the years, and even though we were bought up thousands of miles apart we are like 'soul sisters'.

We are both blessed with wonderful caring and loving husbands, we both chose nursing as a career, we love to shop, we love the odd glass of wine, we love soap operas (she even watches Coronation Street). She is like the sister I never had. We even have the same bra size!

I love you Carol, and I will see you soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.