The Giving Tree

I love that book by Shel Silverstein. Probably my all time favorite children's story ever. A story of unconditional love. Very worth the read.

With that being said this is a picture of my giving tree that lived in my back yard, well the stump of my giving tree. This was the tree that gave us shade, gave us beauty, gave my chimes a place to hang, gave the birds a place to live, amongst many other things. We had found out a few weeks ago that this tree had to come down after much storm damage over the past few years. I was so sad upon hearing this. I get very attached to things, probably to a fault. It's just who I am. Anyway today was the day. I watched with broken heart as it came down piece by piece. Being me I photographed the whole experience. But the best part was at the end after the tree trimmers left and there was just me and the stump. I went out to get a few more photos. I have a thing for tree stumps because of how much I love "The Giving Tree" story. To my surprise I realize that the shape of the stump was a heart. It brought tears to my eyes. What a tree to the very end of it's life. I will miss it. It's just not the same when I look out my window. I will get use to it with time, it's how we humans are wired, time heals. I'm such a silly girl.

...There was a girl who loved her tree and her tree loved her back...

I also must note it has been a very emotion day for me in many different way. Sadness and Joy. Today marks the one year anniversary of the passing of my mother-in -law ... Sadness. Today my husband is on his way home after being away for two weeks ... Joy. I can not wait to see him. My tree coming down ... Sadness. The stump of my tree in the shape of a heart ... Joy.

This has been one very crazy mixed up emotional day. But all is well in my world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.