"....."

I have spent the past 3 days at work parrying emails at a frantic pace, and, with 3 colleagues, preparing a presentation to go to the Executive on Monday.

It's a fairly serious Banking topic (and it's strangely worrying that I found it fascinating too!) - however the amount of time spent moving text around a screen, checking English and punctuation, then moving it back again, is mind boggling.

It has to be presented in a particular font and font size, accepted corporate colours and heading sizes, and, by the way, make it simple to understand too!

This evening, while delivering cleaning implements to my eldest daughter's pig sty bedroom, just as I was about to scream in frustration and anguish at the utter devastation - I spotted these beautifully penned quotes pinned around her wall. She is studying for her prelims at the moment.

I could hardly object to the mess when she was so focused on gaining excellent exam results and a glittering career could I?

When I asked her if she had ever SEEN Shakespeare acted out she told me " we were due to watch a DVD in English, but the class was changed to a PSE one and we spent the time discussing three letter acronym's for STDs instead".

I bought her a DVD - told her she would LOVE it when she HEARD it, much better than reading it.....and she hated it !

Oh woe is me. I am surrounded by philistine children. Ah Me, alas and alack!

(p.s. Happy 82nd mum! miss you)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.