I AM AWARE OF THE FACT

that there would be no sheep or lambs in the meadows if they were not profitable to the farmers. I wonder if there are any wild sheep living in some part of the world? Free sheep, not in prison, not being exploited?

I cycled to Würgassen along the river, my first cycle tour this year and found just before the big bridge a meadow where a black was sleeping in the grass, two new born lambs walking and playing around. They were very young, one day old? or even less?
Superfluously perhaps I add to this that I prefer not to eat killed animals.
I took some pictures, when the farmer came to check on his animals, I asked if I might step over the wires to be closer. He said of course in a very nice way.
Now I could come near and try again. When I still stood there, the farmer came again, now he led a sheep, a white one, on a tow and three new born lambs followed.
They all were led in the meadow too. And I started all over again.
Suddenly I noticed the very dark clouds above my head and it started to rain first, then to hail. I took some shelter behind a horse-cart. As swift as it started to rain, it stopped and after some deliberation with myself I continued my cycle tour, since the sky above Beverungen did not look threatening at all.
I then paused at the Axelsee, looking over the calm water, where I saw a swan pair, slowly floating, and the coots and a grebe, a heron later came flying by.
I ate my sandwich, phoned to Piet Hein, telling my adventure till then, drank my tomato juice and I decided not to continue my tour, but return home the same way as I had come.

My haiku:

Sweet new born lamb live
Long I wish I could make you
Give you a long life

And the proverb:

Much meat, much malady.

1597 in (J. Bodemham?) Polyteuphuia, Wit's Commonwealth: " It is an old proverbe, much meat, much malady".




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.