dfb24

By dfb24

Great Grandma

This was kind of a hectic day today, as I went right from work to the store to run some errands, & by the time I got home, our daughter & the grandkids were here, waiting to go out to dinner. I just changed my clothes & we left--in my rush I forgot to take the camera! (You'd think I'd have learned by now!) After we ate, they dropped us off at home & left to finish packing, as they're flying out of Chicago O'Hare tomorrow morning--we're driving them down & have to pick them up by 6:30 a.m. So for the first time, I found myself totally blipless. I've really enjoyed the old family photos others have put up, so today I'm posting one of my favorite photos! This is my great grandmother, Ovedia, who was born in Oslo, Norway in 1878. Her parents & 2 brothers emigrated to the U.S. when she was 6, & originally settled in the Dakota Territory. Her father became an American Citizen in 1890, & according to the laws of that time, a wife's naturalization, as well as any minor children, were the same as that of the father, so they all became American citizens. Eventually the family moved to Minnesota in 1899, & in 1901 she married my great-grandfather, who had also been born in Oslo, Norway, & whose family had also come to the U.S. when he was 6, & much like Ovedia's family, eventually moved to Minnesota, where they met. I only met her once, when I was about 10 years old. My grandparents took me with them to Minnesota, & she was already in her 80's. I remember her giving me cookies in the kitchen, & I was facinated because she still cooked on an old wood burning stove, which the family had tried many times (unsuccessfully) to replace with something newer. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.