Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A day of two halves

The long awaited (three months) letter came from Scottish Power today, welcoming me to their 'Home Comfort Premium Care'...

To arrange for an initial boiler inspection, I just needed to ring that familiar number and make a date. All those pesky emails I sent to the execs must have paid off. Result!

I rang the number, and got Emmanuel. I gave my post code and asked to arrange a boiler inspection. Silence. Then the familiar, '...er, can you repeat your post code...' Then my address, then my name, then my agreement number... Nothing worked. He could not see my account!!!!

He said he'd 'look into it' and ring me back. I made him promise. He has not rung back. You couldn't make it up!

Uncle A came over for lunch and to watch the match on the big TV. And what a match! Scotland were running, passing, and winning line outs, and even getting tries! Pity about giving away so many penalties - don't they know the rules? However, a great win. Thank goodness. I was about to disown them, and support my mother's team - Ireland.

These tulips are definitely past their best now, but still amazing. This one had a wee petal hanging off, revealing its insides. That's a technical term.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.