Wendywoo2

By Wendywoo2

Spring has sprung

What a glorious day it has been today - sun was out and there was warmth in the air. Went to Mottisfont Abbey near Romsey today - making the most of our National Trust membership. Such a beautiful place and somewhere we wouldn't normally visit. Having this membership makes you explore places you wouldn't necessarily contemplate going to and this was a gem to behold. Spring had started to arrive as the sun was out. But evidence of the flood was around in the nearby villages and in places at the Abbey - but considering the Abbey is right on a river the grounds had got away nicely. I had a choice of blips today - which was a pleasant surprise and doesn't normally happen but I chose the crocus because of its splash of colour. Spent some time getting to know my tripod and macro lens today in the great outdoors - I am a bit rubbish with new things because I want to be great at using them straight away but thankfully I have a patient husband who helps as often as he can. There were blankets of crocus' and snowdrops dotted all around and it was the colour that caught my eye today - especially as the weather of late has been so grey and dull. Hope you enjoy it as much as me.

On the way back we decided to stop for something to eat and found the weirdest, yet most interesting pub I had seen in recent times. The whole place was a minimalists' nightmare as it was full of clutter. Teapots lined a shelf above the curtains all the way round the pub, doc martins shoes (only the right one) hung from hooks from the ceiling - many, many different types, every type of coin from around the world glued to the bar, bed pans hung from hooks (clean of course) above the bar, coloured trumpets in part of the restaurant, a large mooses' head by the carvery and a a live parrot called Charlie in an enormous cage, fenced off to people so you can look and not touch in case you got bitten. It was a feast for the eyes and made us both really smile. Wouldn't like to have to dust all that though!!

On a lighter note for those who have been giving advice and helping me with suggestions on the clothes front. I have managed to find an array of work clothes - not quite what I wanted but I have come to realise that for size I probably can't wear some of the things I want so will have to think about slimming down. But also as many suggested working in a school I am surround by paint, snot etc etc and anything nice is easily ruined. But I just wanted to look nice for a change. But I have managed to find some things online so going back to work feeling loads better.

After all the fresh air hubby and I are having a quiet night in - although he has immersed himself in Breaking Bad - got it for him to cheer him up as he was feeling so poorly and have become a Breaking Bad widow!! So will catch up on all my comments as I couldn't blip and comment yesterday.

Have a good evening one and all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.