Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

RESULT!

I rang Scottish Power (freephone, thank goodness - I’ve spent hours on the phone to them) just to see what blethers I got today. Well, I got Gary.

I’ve come across this before’ said he, ‘I know how to sort it out!’

He put me on hold for a few minutes or so, then came back and said it was sorted. I asked how could he do it, and every other person I’ve rung in the past three months couldn’t.

I was more insistent.

He passed me to Joseph in the Home Comfort Team, who told me he had my details, and the boiler people would ring in a couple of weeks and make an appointment. Still a bit vague, but hey, I was happy.

THEN the phone went...

I’m Shirley, from the Director’s Office. I’m ringing about your problems er, our problems. I’m just letting you know that I WILL deal with this today.’

She repeated this. I think she also meant that I should NOT send any more bulk emails to executives…

The boiler inspection has at last been arranged. Hallelluia! Apparently the problem was that someone had put TWO spaces in my post code!!! You couldn’t make it up.

The other good thing today was that I found out where I could pop along and play table tennis with old codgers retired folk. I have been searching since I retired, but most table tennis is run in the evenings and it’s teams. In fact, this one is the only one in the city where you just turn up in the afternoon.

I popped along and had a great time. Two solid hours playing with folk who creaked a bit, but pulled out nifty wee shots every so often.

‘We’re not serious, we just play for fun’

But one old biddy started complaining about my serve. It’s not correct, but it’s what I’ve always done, and when you’re just playing socially it has never mattered. Oh no. It was illegal. I have to change it. Of course, to stop and try to think what to do after 40 years doing it the wrong way - well …

One man commiserated at the end. ‘They said my bat was illegal. In fact, they said my balls were the wrong size.’

I said nowt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.