An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Stand up for the Key Change...

I was back at Alan’s school today as they were trying him out in a sit to stand chair.

At the moment at school he transfers into a standing frame to give him a change of position and get the blood flowing through his leg muscles, but it takes 3 people and a hoist to get him into the standing frame. A fantastic piece of equipment but not much use if he’s at home with only me so since he got too big for me to lift him in and out of it on my own, we’ve not had a standing frame at home. It didn’t really matter though as he was using one daily in school so could skip the weekend without any adverse effects. But since he’s leaving school in June, we’ve had to try and find an alternative that can be easily used at home.

Well thank heavens for his wonderful physio. She did her research and found a sit to stand chair that he can sit in comfortably for his sitting activities, then when he needs to stand you pull a lever and the chair gently lifts him into standing, all the while keeping his shoulders, hips and knees in the correct position. She arranged for the Reps to bring the chair to school and let Alan to have a trial of it today.

He’s got a cold and wasn’t really in the mood for getting moved about and having a lot of people (and there were a lot – 3 reps from the chair company, 2 physios, an OT, class teacher, classroom assistant and me!) fussing over him, but he did really well.

Once he was in the chair and it was moved into the standing position, he loved it! It always takes my breath away and makes me a little bit emotional to see him standing full height. He’s taller than me! Not that that would be difficult! One of the Reps measured his legs and commented on how long they are then looked at me and said he must take after his dad :))))

Whilst all this was going on the Bio-engineer from the wheelchair clinic appeared with Alan’s new manual wheelchair. We didn’t even know he was getting a new manual wheelchair but apparently it’s a back- up incase the power one needs to go in for repair.

All this without us even having to ask! I am definitely dreaming!

PS Shoot me now moment of the day…..got a letter in from the hospital with an appointment for the nerve tests in connection with my carpal tunnel syndrome. Imagine how great I felt when I read that I should report to “The Dept of Physiology, Elderly Foyer” I am officially old and decrepit!

PPS No I don’t send Alan to school in trousers that are too short….they are caught up in the knee supports!

PPPS Yesterday's Blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.