Northern Exposure

By Northern

Bingo baking!

I had no intentions of taking this pic. I was going to blip the wonderful baking that was donated to the school's bingo night.

Firstly you have to realise that no event happens in Orkney without supper. Usually coffee/tea, sandwiches, savoury snacks, quiche, oatcakes, sausage rolls and a variety of cake. There would be a walk out if this was not a factor in the evening and bingo is no exception.

Tonight however the 'Burray Peedie Executives' launched their new recipe book. This was intended to be a 'fruit' recipe book, healthy eating and all that. However, it has to be said that most of the recipes although they contained fruit are more like sweet and sticky eating. To encourage people to buy the book everyone made some of the content for sampling. Has to be said that it was a higher than average standard of baking and that is saying something.

So, I went armed with my camera. But everything went so fast that I never got a chance to photograph anything. I did manage to sample some though, yum.

On the way home I realised I had no blip. Fortunately the sun was starting to dip below the hills and a neighbour was in between. Oh and a lot of the cake eating was done by neighbours, well... they live on the same island, so I reckon that means it fits with the homework assignment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.