Froth on a slow blip day

It has been a day of disagreements. A day when on the surface of it, not everything went right, but underneath, it more or less did. I don't mind things this way, really. But after yesterday, today was surely mundane.

Have been reading about Enid Blyton. About the BBC refusing to acknowledge her work during her time since it apparently lacked literary value.

There have also been allegations lately about some of her work having racist and sexist overtones. I don't see the point in quoting a few lines which have prompted these allegations, lines that have subsequently been removed, pictures altered and so on. I ask myself, why had I enjoyed reading Enid Blyton as a kid? In a way it fuelled my sense of adventure and dare I say, imagination. Magical lands, magical creatures, simple (perhaps overly) ideas of good and bad, friendship, holidays, food, happy endings... In some ways, they were a testimony to the idea of a book being the means for an escape, becoming an alternate reality.

But I wonder, if her books can make a child show racial prejudice, or sexist leanings. As children one hardly notices them or interprets them this way. In the larger context of the story, they are insignificant and almost non-existent. In a rare eventuality, some lines might create certain biases that get lodged in the subconscious, but what doesn't? As we experience diversity in our lives, we shed our prejudices. But the idea of a ban on these terms makes me wonder if people these days are especially on a lookout for things that might cause "offence."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.