I.C.E.

I did say I was going back to work for a rest....right?
Wrong!

An hour and a half into my morning and I had to deal with my first ever 'proper' medical emergency.

At first I thought it was a simple faint; this isn't uncommon...nervous patients + dental treatment = boom! However, the patient took longer than usual to recover and although conscious, appearance wise was pretty worrying; grey pallor, profusely sweating & clammy.
Obviously I can't say too much for confidentiality reasons, but what I would say is how well we all worked through the situation as a team.

We have to keep up to date with the management of medical emergencies, which is usually role play, but in the real event, we stayed cool, calm & collected.

We left the patient in the capable hands of the paramedics (apparently the cause was low blood pressure) and continued with the rest of the morning.

That was more than enough excitement for one day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.