Fido

By Fido

Shoop Shooop

Last week on my birthday my lovely husband gave me a pair of ski socks. Today I got to test them out with a trip - just the two of us - to the Lecht.

I haven't been skiing for more than 15 years and even then it was just a few odd days at ski centres here in Scotland, so it's fair to say I'm not the slightest bit good. However, I like to think my approach to skiing is the same as my approach to surfing and what I lack in skill or ability I more than make up for with enthusiasm and sheer determination to have fun.

And have fun we did. We had just shy of four hours skiing over the day and it was pretty much all that. There was no queuing, no waiting around and not many long lifts, just plenty of gliding and swooshing and falling down white covered mountains.

It was pretty grey and overcast most of the day but it wasn't particularly cold and there was next to no wind and it was quiet, oh so quiet. Infact apart from for about half and hour Iain and I has the pistes to ourselves.

There was one occasion when we met a group of ski poles at the end of the poma but their owners were no where to be seen.

A day out together, just the two of us is a rare treat and this was an absolutely blissful one. We are very grateful to Iain's mum who took care of the little ones for us.

And with that I'm off to bed. My limbs are aching!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.