Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

The Magical Mighty Murray!

Nothing can ever really prepare you for those magical moments when you find yourself surrounded by such incredible beauty. I had no idea that the Murray River was such a wealth of bird life and fantastic scenery.
My Blip today has been so hard to select. Do I show you the glorious sunrise or perhaps I should use the one of the three pelicans looking like they're queuing for a bus! oh, no, I'll have to use the one of the pelicans at Lock 1 waiting for the fish to fall over the edge of the weir!

In fact I have used an action shot, yes, so far the best of the bunch (of action shots that is) ! And when I mean bunch, we're talking dozens and dozens of images!! Remember I'm just a "Baby Blipper" with a lot to learn!

The river is crammed with pelicans, it's amazing really. When I snuck out at 6.00 am this morning it was still dark and when I looked out at the river there were nearly 30 pelicans just quietly circling in the light of the boat. It was just so eerie.

We have just been through Lock 1 and it was fantastic to see dozens of pelicans all lining up to feed on the fish that innocently find their way over the top part of the lock to the waiting pelicans below.

I did have a great thrill this afternoon when Masterchef winner - Julie Goodwin asked me to come up and help her while she was demonstrating how to make Gnocchi! Well it was great fun, however she did intimate that I would probably have to serve a longer than normal apprenticeship!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.