A Whole New World

A whole new world has opened up for me today. I have had the first real play with my new macro lens which I bought at the Photography Show on Sunday. (Chasing a small spider around in my study last night doesn't really count, and it looked pretty scary close up too).

I noticed in one of my garden tubs some small blue flowers had opened, I'm not sure what they are and I think I contemplated pulling them out a week or so ago thinking that the leaves were just weeds, but I thought they would be a good subject for a bit of macro practice on. I ended up bringing the tub inside out of the breeze to stop the flowers moving around so much, and I clicked away trying various compositions. When I was reviewing some of the pictures on the screen I was amazed to see a little insect in the flower head. I had another look at the flower in real life and I could just about see it!

I'm amazed and am looking forward to experimenting more with this style of photography in the coming months.

Have a look Large to see the little bug in more detail, and the other versions (including the spider) can be seen here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.