Mates

By Mates

Halloween.

October 1999. I thought I might have missed a few with how abrupt the story changes - and then I realized why I did it - Halloween was coming and I didn't want to miss the chance to do a Halloween story, and I couldn't let Tad and Frank's argument go on for much longer so I merged them. I had originally intended to have Tad have a series of boyfriends that were weirdos, then see Frank with a new guy and go crazy....but it's Frank? So how could I?

I had no idea what sound it would make when you saw a price tag - I went the scooby doo route.

I'm very proud of these strips because it's hard to pull off these kinds of jokes. The second strip has the characters in costumes, so I had to tell the joke, make them recognizable, and put them in a costume that wouldn't alter the character or the joke.

That last panel - ugh. Okay, there was a character in the strip named Astro, and I will not be posting his appearances. You know Rose McGowan in the first Scream movie, where she's wearing the spiral skirt and the clunky shoes and the top from Hot Topic? In 1999, everybody was wearing loud patterns and bizarre hair and huge shoes, and everything was EXTREME! Astro was that person, and he was not funny and never worked at all and was difficult to draw. I assume he went back to his home planet off-panel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.