Big faces of Glasgow

I was over in Glasgow today for a conference on welfare reform and it's impact on health and social care in Scotland. I don't know if you read my rant yesterday, but in my blip I advocated changing things if you didn't like the way they are.

Today was an event hosted by Scottish Government to see how we can do just that to improve the lives of people in Scotland. I really enjoyed the day, I've come away with a lot of ideas and information and it was really great to see the work (largely hidden from public view) that is currently going on and planned around Scotland to tackle social inequality.

I just can't stress this enough - what really matters is how you influence people to make changes; a notion effectively portrayed by Sir Harry Burns today.

On the way to Atlantic Quay, I passed York Street, home to this public art project. I've passed it before, but never really stopped to really look at it or find out what it is. It's a wall celebrating the many faces of Glasgow, including celebrities and the general public.

Back in 2012, Art Pistol asked Glaswegians by birth or by choice, to submit photos of their faces via the Art Pistol Facebook page. 12 members of the public were picked from the submissions and they were joined by five famous Glaswegians; Robert Carlyle, Kelly McDonald, Lulu, Michelle Mone and Brian Limond. Artist Rogue-One, then painted these 17 people's heads as a piece of massive street art in Central Glasgow. I rather like them!

ps. My friend SandyRJack just joined blip, stop by and say hello!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.