briocarioca

By briocarioca

Party day!

We had a great day, but in spite of leaving the camera within easy reach, was so busy that I never thought to use it till nearly everyone had gone home (and then only because a guest suggested it) So here’s a photo of HH, the birthday boy (on the left, on the sofa), myself and a couple of friends, exhausted after too much food and drink.

Finally got HH to use the drill I bought and we hung some pictures that have been lurking in corners for ages. Then the friend that stayed here and wielded his drill for us over Carnaval turned up early, complete with drill, and hung some more, while his girlfriend helped me organize the table. What good people! Everyone arrived in party mood, in spite of heavy rain, and I have to say, we had a great time (supposedly the sign of a good party if the hosts enjoy themselves too). Other people also brought delicious dishes and I wish I had taken a shot of the table, it looked terrific.

I don’t find entertaining easy, so it feels wonderful when it all goes well. After everyone had gone home, HH was extremely quiet on the sofa, having imbibed fair quantities of ‘batida’ (a lethal mix of cane spirit and lemon juice), while I finally sat down with a small glass of beer and a snack and watched “I’m All Right Jack”, with Peter Sellars, kindly downloaded by a friend. Then off to bed, very happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.