What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

To Visit Kerroogarroo Civil War Fort

When I went to the lecture I said my next walk would be to revisit the civil war fort quite near to my house.

I had not taken in to account the amount of rain that we had immediately following the event. Today however it is drying out nicely and I was able to get to the fort.

It is very hard to get any impression of it at ground level. It is entirely an earth work. This is a view looking south-west towards the area that would in the 1650's have been entirely water logged and impassible. The fort itself is on higher ground and has a commanding view to the North. Rather it would have had a commanding view then but in more modern times the hedgerows have been put in place and many trees have become established.

I have to say that the aerial photographs of the fort that I have seen show its impressive lay out and it was designed to provide an artillery point with a large proportion of the north of the Island within range. It would have provided a formidable defence work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.