jojobunny

By jojobunny

The Miracle of Life

It was slow at work this afternoon, so I decided to take a break and go to a local sheep farm so see if there were any newborn lambs.
To my surprise there were many! I took many great photos of the sheep and lambs, I was there for about a half hour, when I asked the shepherd if any of the sheep were expecting. He pointed to one sheep in a middle stall, and said she would be having her young very soon. "How soon?", I asked. He said "in about 1/2 hour!" Wow! I guess I'll wait!
She was in labor and making noises (Bah, Bah) every minute or so. Suddenly, all the other sheep became quiet. It was strange. After about 20 minutes or so, the shepherd went to check her. With gloves up to his elbow, he helped pull the lamb out. I was in awe! I had never seen the birth of a lamb before! He laid the little lamb down on the hay, and the mother began to clean her up. Then the shepherd went back in again and pulled the second lamb out. This one was a boy! He was very gentle with the Mom and the little lambs. With steam rising up from the newborns in the cool air, the Mom continued to check them and clean them. So amazing and beautiful! The miracle of life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.