Cygnus

By Cygnus

Dark and light

It was a really beautiful morning with a mist lying across the fields in lovely layers. Unfortunately my best view was from a very fast dual carriageway with no-where safe to stop. Then I had a meeting after work today so didn't get home until late, so it was dark on my return journey.

This is me trying to explain why my blip is a photo of the grasses in my back garden, taken with a flash. At least this is progression from my iPhone, which doesn't have a flash!

We had a fun day in my first-year Science class today, with a couple of 'magical' experiments that totally impressed my audience of 11-year-olds. Did you know... if you add 50ml water to 50ml methanol, it does not create 100ml mixture? It adds up to just about 96ml - oooooh! My junior class is learning that everything is made of 'particles' and that some particles are smaller than others. In the experiment we tried, it turns out that water particles can slip between the larger methanol particles, a bit like golf balls could slip into the spaces between a big barrel with footballs in it.

The girls thought this was brilliant! They are still young and eager to learn, bless them. A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.