They're back!

Both the pair of Great Crested Grebes and the pair of swans were there when I was able to stop for about 20 minutes at the artificial island on the way home from the market at the town centre. The swans were using the same nest as last year but the Grebes had chosen another spot to build theirs. Neither of the birds sitting on their nest got up while I was watching them so I don't know whether they have any eggs which still have to hatch. I did manage to spot a little one on the Grebe's back though before I had to leave again and catch the bus home to get ready for work.

This is not the best shot that I've taken while I was at the artificial island but it shows the best that there is at least one grebelet sitting on its parent's back. I hope to be able to go back and check on the nests again soon but I have no idea when this will be as I cannot really spare the time for it at the moment and I don't ride past the artificial island anymore like I used to now that we've moved to the apartment.

A big thank you for the kind comments on my flowering plant blip from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.