Not broken!

So after last night's shenanigans, it would appear that I'm ok! I felt better this morning and despite feeling silly, mum and Ian took me to A&E.

Weirdly, after the pain in my right foot yesterday, it was my left ankle that was giving me the most problems today. Turns out I've sprained both of my ankles.

The Doctor also thinks that I most probably fractured a metatarsal bone a month ago when I first injured the bridge of my foot. There's not much they could do about it - in most metatarsal fractures they recommend RICE (rest, ice, compression, elevation). I then should have sought measures to keep the foot stable and considered taping and strapping to relieve stress on the bones. I also shouldn't have been pushing myself to do long runs and putting extra pressure on my foot. Hence the pain after my long runs.

I shouldn't have ignored the injury. It was also rather unfortunate that I then also took part yesterday. It further aggravated the foot and caused me to sprain both ankles. Doh!

So the verdict? Rest for a couple of days; no running for at least a week and stick to shorter distances; and seek out the help of a sports physiotherapist to look at stabilising that foot, perhaps improving my running form, and getting strengthening exercises. Fun.

Thank you to everyone for all your kind words! I now have painkillers, coke and ice cream and am on my way home for Wesley snuggles!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.