_Holly_Days_

By H0lly

New Horizons

During my long flights to London I had a strange realisation: that I was actually doing this, that this was actually happening to me and not some hypothetical version of myself. I began thinking about Damian, my house, my bed, my routines, and realised that I really wouldn't be seeing them for 6 months. Thankfully, this didn't result in a full blown emotional breakdown - instead I just had that sinking feeling in my stomach I tend to get when I am afraid. Then I chose to focus on all the things I would gain from this experience, and there were so so many, starting with looking out the plane window and seeing the sun rise on the Earth from a very long way up. It was spectacular, and was definitely in the running for todays blip.

However, in the end London won, as it certainly put on its best for my arrival! Blue skies and sunshine! I wasn't told about this! From the airport I got a shuttle to the hostel I'm staying at in Greenwich. I have a pretty shocking cough so I know I'm going to be that annoying person keeping everyone up which is a shame!

Now I'm honestly about to fall asleep so I better go get some dinner before that happens! And wait for Damian to wake up and call me - I actually still can't believe I won't physically see him for so long. God I love that man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.