RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Return To Las Palmas

This morning dawned a little cloudy. I almost didn't go to Hotel Las Palmas to re-shoot beach scenes, but thought two cancellations in a row might be too much and headed out despite the weather. Am I glad I did! The clouds cleared soon after the sun came up and it was a perfect day to take sun drenched beach shots. After an hour, the photos were getting a little repetitious and I was casting about for new angles. I had just finished a National Geographic Magazine and marveled at the fact they always included at least one aerial photo in any story on a place. Thinking there was no way the client would spring for a helicopter, I realized I only needed about seven feet of elevation for a completely different perspective. A fully extended tripod (shadow visible on the left), a ten second self timer, and a wide-angle lens got me just what I wanted, after a some judicial cropping to straighten weird angles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.