intothehills

By intothehills

Ties.

For the first fifteen or so years of my working life I wore a tie every day. When we set up our own business it was one of the first things to go, a symbol (or lack thereof) that I was now my own boss.
In the next ten years I could probably count on the fingers of one hand the number of times I wore one again, and as I'm sure is the case for a lot of people, Nome of those occasions were fun. I'm partial to a good suit and an expensive shirt, but the tie always seems a step too far.
And yet, it still seems to hold a place in society, at funerals its expected, I've been to dinners where its a must, and, it would seem Judges like them too. Or so the Barrister has told me.
Tomorrow is (& really even as I type this, I think ill only believe it's happening when I'm actually looking at the judge) our fourth attempt at having the Chancery trial to resolve Mums estate, two awful, but hopefully final days await, and then perhaps, after four long years, we can start to move on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.