Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Walking with ghosts

Up here it is so strange and quite...

I´ve been spending a lot of time walking and thinking. Treading along through the barren burned ridgetops. I wasn´t expecting to meet you here old friend. I´ve tried to forget you for a long time, such a long time...But I accept you back with open arms. Walking through this barren still silence I remember back to all those times as a child. My steadfast companion when there was no one else, or at least no one´s company I preferred...And when I sought you out willingly.

Oh the memories. The nostalgia. The metaphor all around me. So burned up, charred, and ashy. The mist slowly rolling in obscuring everything, even here atop the highest ridgetop, so still. I feel like I´m coming home...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.