lauramary

By lauramary

Day 104

The day didn't start off too well with me deciding to eat an unacceptable amount of chocolate. This was probably the trigger for the self hatred I then felt. I couldn't get comfortable and iplayer was refusing to work. I was tired, a bit stressed and indecisive. But then something strange happened. I decided to do some exercise. And after some guilt and anxiety I was off out and doing day 1 of couch to 5k...

It was hard work but I managed to push myself through. It was back like the old days when I used to push myself through so much. Pain didn't used to get in the way. If I had decided I needed to do an amount of exercise, that amount of exercise would get done. If I decided I needed to work a certain number of hours, whatever happened, that amount of work would get done.

Since being depressed though, this has all stopped. A bit of pain and I will use it as an excuse to give up. I am not driven and any goals I give myself are unlikely to be fulfilled. The other day, Pei said she remembers, even in my second year (before I was 'officially' depressed, but in hindsight, I think I was), she would have to call me to get out of bed. A couple of hours later I would turn up in the library and after an hour I would leave again. Lazy/just depressed/other? I don't know.

It's a bit scary having glimpses of such will power back again though. I feel like if I just tell myself I need to do something, if I want it enough, I can do it. So then I feel guilty for not just pushing myself through everything to work, eat properly, exercise well etc.

I guess it could be partially because of that extreme pressure I put on myself that I got so ill.

Anyway, once back from the exercise (having got caught in the hail - it had been sunny when I left!), I walked to Helen's. I felt a bit sad and was worrying about how well I might be. It came into my head that I should get a job but the idea of interaction with people at work scared me.

Helen's was ok, I felt a bit dull but nothing major. I felt like it might be helped if I ate something with some sugar, but I didn't have anything.

After a few hours, it was time for church. I was hit by lowness about a friend being low.

I was uncomfortably anxious at church. I wondered whether it might have been made worse by hunger (which certainly was the problem after the service).

Once at home, I started to think (perhaps prompted by the sermon - but not necessarily an accurate reflection of the sermon) of how being depressed must just be because I am a sinner, that it is my fault and I shouldn't talk to my GP. Not helpful.

I felt tired, weak and sad, alone. Add in some fear and guilt.

So badly tempted to cut myself. Praise God, I managed to resist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.