Heigh-ho

Heigh-ho, heigh-ho, it's off to the physio I go.

I have no idea why I'm saying it like that, my physio is nothing like a dwarf, but it just popped into my head.

I saw Andy (the hot physio) again today. I'm sorry, I couldn't quite face asking to take a photo of him, so instead you get my left ankle! The repeat sprains have caused hyper-mobility - so to fix it, Andy worked on the tendons on my inner ankle, strapped up the outer part of the ankle and taught me some exercises to do with the blue band to strengthen the ankles and calf muscles.

In my right foot, he spent a long time working across the metatarsal joint and he strapped that up to make sure I walk on the right part of my foot (instead of cheating and overcompensating).

I asked him if I could run at the weekend, just a short one, but he said no. I'm allowed to swim, cycle or do a bit of light cross training. Which basically means that I have to go to a gym. Aarrghh a gym??! I haven't been to one properly in years. I hate them - hence the reason I chose an outdoor sport so I didn't have to go.

I'm feeling awful not doing any exercise at all (except for a quick swim on Monday) so I'm thinking about a spin class - anyone want to come with me and get me over the trauma of having to go to the gym?

Back to see Andy next Tuesday to replace the strapping and to see how I'm getting on. If I do my daily exercises, there's a chance I may be able to go for a short run the weekend after next.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.