misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

A Dancing Date

I was at the library just before closing to check out scrumptious gardening books and a few DVDs for the weekend.
Getting everything sorted is my friend, Jess, looking especially dressy with her hair pinned up. Out of sight to the right sits a young man with curly dark hair and a non-stop smile as he watches her do her librarian work.
It dawned on me that she might finally have found a dancing partner and would be going out for the Strictly Comes Dancing rural New York version this evening.
As I I left I asked her if she was going dancing. Her face lit right up and she nodded. Excitement in the air at the public library.
During the summer Jess told me how unhappy she was because she loves dancing but cannot ever find a partner who is as good as she is or one who wants to do ballroom dancing. I think she is 20 and other people of that age do a different kind of dance to different music.
When she finds a young man to take her to the dance hall and he confesses that he doesn't really know how to dance but just wants to be with her, she offers to teach him dancing. Those dates end early... for some reason.
I am happy for her on this Friday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.