SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Beauty isn't only Skin Deep

It was misty all day here, so no nice light to help my outdoor picture. I had a brief wander around the garden, and it felt like there was something magical in the air, something chillingly beautiful, which got me thinking about the different perspectives we have of beauty. I saw this poem an thought it went quite well with my reflections.

A Beauty on the Land

There lies a beauty on the land,
but it is hard to understand
what is the glory in the sky
and on the stranger passing by.
The small sun does not rise or set;
the pavement glistens onyx-wet;
the little lights shine here and there;
a winter damp is in the air.
Yet all the gray familiar places,
all the streets and all the faces,
wear a look of faraway.
It is an ordinary day,
yet everywhere I look I find
a beauty that I passed by blind
an hour ago. Sometimes I think
we spend our life on beauty's brink
and never open up our eyes
to see how warm, how close it lies.


By James Dillet Freeman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.