Toots in Solitude

By Toots

Nice clock eh?

Don't know what the pub is like though.

Raking through purses and bags in a charity shop I spotted a purse I thought looked quite practical. The zip was partially open and I fully opened it to investigate. There were receipts inside and when I opened the wallet part it revealed a whole pile of bank cards, driving licence etc. I took it to the counter and the assistant said a girl had reported it missing on FRIDAY! So it had lain there throughout Fri, Sat, Mon and Tuesday morning with no-one spotting it. After the girl was phoned I asked the assistant if this girl had been delighted that it had been found. Apparently it had originally contained £35 and she was disgruntled to have lost that and had questioned where I had found it. Honestly, sometimes there are harsh judgements made.

Later on the homeward bus journey a girl got onto the bus, parked her bag on the luggage part and made a feeble attempt to look for her 'bus pass'. The driver never shut the doors and made no attempt to move off. He never said a word and she did seem to be pretending to search her bags, making a show of getting stuff out but keeping an eye on the driver too. She said, 'I have a bus pass somewhere' but still he remained silent and waited patiently. I think she thought he would give up and drive off, but no, he just waited and waited, passengers were getting fidgety and in the end she stormed off the bus looking daggers at everyone. Perhaps she genuinely had mislaid her pass or perhaps the driver knew her by reputation. Her behaviour didn't add up to my mind otherwise I would usually offer the fare. Judgement day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.